Re: Spam from K2G

Thomas Mize KJ4GK

I am the one responsible for the messages being sent the last few days using JT Alert and I take FULL RESPONSIBILITY.

Allow me to explain please...

First off, this is absolutely embarrassing. My Name is Thomas Mize - KJ4GK and this is my first year volunteering to operate as K2G along with many others ops from GA for the 13 Colonies Special Event.

I am one of those type of guys that always tries to think out side the box. In a way, it is a good thing in many situations, but with what happened with this IT WAS NOT :(

What gave this idea, was what a fellow Ham said. He stated, that he wasn't having a lot of luck on the allocated frequencies even with spotting them.  The word wasn't getting out well enough.  Just by hearing him say that.  Once I got off the phone I had the idea popped off in my thick skull, I was like, "If I could send messages out to operators that are already on the band operating FT8/4 and Invite them over to the frequencies it would be GREAT!"

Then my thought was..."BUT...a big BUT, I cannot allow messages to be sent to anyone twice. In my mind that was the key. If people received messages more then once, this would NOT BE A GOOD THING AT ALL!!!

So I attempted to work on the program and found out that I wouldn't be able to implement the code to make sure it doesn't send to the same operator twice(A little over my head) so I jumped on a Freelance Site and Hired a Programmer for $80 to help me with this. I also told him only messages to be sent to operators that were online as well. I explained how important it was that people can't be sent the same message twice. I needed a database to be implemented.

The next day he sent the source over and it appeared to be working GREAT. I was getting a lot of replies thanking me so much for inviting them.  I was so happy because It was working and it was bringing people to the freq. BUT. . .